In my previous post, I wrote about taking advantage of the latest hardware in all-in-one touch based desktops, and running these with Win7.  This is what I have done for my “home” PC. 

In this and subsequent posts, I’ll be writing about using Win8 on my “work” laptop, nicely configured to let me work as closely as possible to how I used to work with Win7.  This way, I get the benefits of Win8 (cool new hardware, fast to start, clean flat look to the UI) without having to change too much of how I interact with my files and applications.  And when Win8 apps reach the level I’m satisfied with, I can easily make the move from the old style “desktop” apps to full screen Win8 apps.

I call this my “Best of Both Worlds Approach”

Pin commonly accessed apps to the desktop taskbar

Begin by making a list of the 10 “desktop” (ie NON-Windows 8) applications you will most often use. 

Then remove Microsoft Office apps (apart from outlook) from that list, because you can easily create new documents by right clicking on an empty space on the windows desktop and selecting “new”.

Your list will probably include apps in the following categories:

Category

Example

Browser Chrome (Google)
eMail Outlook (Microsoft) or Thunderbird (Mozilla)
PDF file reader Acrobat Reader (Adobe)
Music iTunes (Apple)
Video/DVD VLC (VideoLan)
Image Viewer Windows Photo Viewer (Microsoft)
Photo Editor Photoshop Elements (Adobe)
Screen Capture Snipping Tool (Microsoft)
Chat Live Messenger (Microsoft)
Calculator Calculator (Microsoft)

 

I like having links to my commonly used apps on the taskbar in my Win8 desktop.

The easiest way to get them there is to press “Windows Key”+Q, which brings you to the application search screen, then type in enough letters of the name of the app you want until it appears in the listing on the left of the screen.

Pin 2 Taskbar 1

Right click the selected app, and a list of actions appears on the bottom edge of your screen.  Click on the icon for “Pin to Taskbar”.

Pin 2 Taskbar 2

Repeat these steps for the other applications on your list, and you’ll have a nicely populated taskbar in your windows desktop.

Tell Win7 what app to launch when you double-click an icon

I dislike reading an email in Outlook in the desktop view, then clicking on an image attachment or PDF attachment, and finding myself bounced out to the full screen view. I want these files closed before I return to my email, and the gesture for this on a touch machine, or using a mouse, is not a good use of my time. (See the keyboard shortcut at the end of this post for a better solution).  I would much rather have such files (whether as attachments or in list in an explorer window) open in a window alongside my outlook inbox and message windows. 

PDF

I’ve written previously that I like my PDF reader lightweight and fast.  My choice is Sumatra PDF.  For creation, editing, marking up of PDF files, I use Adobe Acrobat X.

I probably read 20 PDFs for every 1 PDF that I mark up.  So it makes sense for me to set up Sumatra PDF as the default app to open when I double click on a PDF in an email message or an explorer folder.

Right click on a PDF file, and select “Open with”, then “Choose default program….”

PDF1

PDF2

I click on “SumatraPDF” (you click on the application of your choice – perhaps Acrobat Reader if that’s what you want to use).  Make sure the check box is ticked.

I mentioned earlier that for editing of PDF files, I use Acrobat X.  In an editing case, when I right click on the PDF file, I select “Open with” and then click on the line for that application. 

Images

PDF files come with just one type of extension:  “PDF”

With images, there are lots more formats/extensions to choose from.  JPG, GIF, PNG, TIF are the common image type extensions.  You need to set up the default application to open images as many times as you have image file extensions. 

I like the default Windows Photo Viewer that shipped with Win7.  The good news is that it’s still present in Win8.  It’s just not the default app for opening common image formats since Microsoft wants to have customers use full screen Win8 apps as much as possible.

We change that by using the same procedure for PDF, the only difference being that we select the “Windows Photo Viewer” line item instead.

IMG1

IMG2

In the images above, I set the default app to open PNG files to be “Windows Photo Viewer”.  I need to repeat the process for JPG, GIF and other image file types I also want to have open in my choice of default image viewer.

Video

You’ve probably got the hang of setting the default app to open files with a particular extension by now.  So for videos, just know that the common formats are WMV, AVI, MP4, MOV, M4V…..

I use VLC as it handles them all, and it does the job very well. 

Convenient Keyboard Shortcuts

A laptop I’ve been playing with has a synaptics touchpad with a Win8 driver that supports gestures that bring up the charms menu, lower/upper screen edge menus and slide from left edge to right to switch between full screen apps. 

It’s awkward, to say the least.  I have not mastered the combination of trajectory, speed, pressure and pauses to get it to work reliably.  A proper standalone touchpad accessory might do the job better, and I’m seriously considering buying one in the coming months.  But with things as they are, I depend on a few common keyboard shortcuts to help me stay away from the Start Page as much as possible, and when I HAVE to be there, not miss the fact that my laptop does not have a touchscreen.

Here’s my list for this week:

Alt+F4 = close current application (My Favourite since starting to use Win8!)

Windows+X = Get a list of System Tools

Windows+C = Charms Bar

Windows+P = External Display options (extend, duplicate, one screen only)

That’s it for this episode.  In the next posts, I’ll write about two Start “button” retrofit utilities I’m trying out now.

