I’ve always loved newspapers.  

Newspapers and a cup of coffee and a few minutes to enjoy both together is my idea of an ideal start to any morning. 

Yes, I’ve sometimes resorted to having a laptop in front of me as coffee companion, with the news sites I love loaded up but this is only when I was not able to get a paper. 

The BBC World Service covered the closing of the Rocky Mountain News, a mere 55 days before it’s 150th anniversary, and attributed it’s demise to the trend of news consumers increasingly turning to the internet instead of the newspapers.  

The Media companies, once so powerful, so influential, are now either embracing a move to the internet in an attempt to survive, or folding up their businesses.  

Of course, the bad economic climate had a role.  But there have been bad economic climates before, many in fact during the Rocky Mountain News’ nearly 150 years of operation.  

As content is increasingly consumed in digital form, those involved in the packaging and distribution must evolve too.

It’s ironic that the first time I’ve ever read a page from the Rocky Mountain News is from their website – and it’s the goodbye article on the last issue front page.  I’m encountering the newspaper on the very medium that helped bring out it’s demise.  Ironic too that the other great anniversary being celebrated during this time is that of Charles Darwin. 

final-issue-rocky-mountain-news

